My first fiction story.. “May Love Story”

I’ve written some medicinal and health articles in about-medics.blogspot.com and http://greatlifeacademy.wordpress.com, a few self-motivational and religious writings, and also an environmental post. To end this month, I’m thinking of writing a post that I haven’t done before. So here I go with the fiction one. Why love story? Because the title of May Love Story was the first thing come to my mind that time. And worse, it wouldn’t get away from my head. So, be it the title: “May Love Story”.

I knew him in a park. We met in this park, Alaina Park. Me with my family, and him with his family. As I knew, our family were similarly a simple family, similarly love this park. But maybe the memory we had in this park were different.

I don’t know what made his family to come often to this park. But for my family, this park is quite special. There was a precious history for my mom. A history that made a wonderful story to tell.  She has been thousand times telling me this story, but everytime she started again, her eyes were always softened. It was like seeing a delicate feeling she tried to pour out every time she passed this memory.

After mom and dad got married, they had had to wait for 4 years before they had a child, berfore they had me. After went through a couple of infertility treatment series which were pricey too, they still had no result. Mom become so stressful and finally she gave up. In some point, after she gave up, she surrended on what God’s will for her. But eventually, it was the time when she finally had been given a child.

From the first time when she moved in to a new area after marrying dad, mom has already felt in love to Alaina Park, which was located not far from our house. Mom felt that there was a peace she could enjoy the most in this place, where she could had a quality spiritual time. I have to admit that this park is beautiful with its leafy trees and there were woody bench so everyone could drop by and enjoy fresh air. So, every time she had free time or nothing to do, she would come to this park.

On one mild evening in May 9th, mom took a visit to the park. While she was sitting down on the bench, she felt asleep. Maybe because she was tired that time, but she had this dream while she was sleeping. There was someone who came to her and handed her a beautiful baby girl. She remembered clearly every detail on that dream, like it was happen for real.

Somehow, after woke up, she had a strong feeling that she will be pregnant soon. But she had no courage to tell dad. She was afraid that it was only a dream, and would let him down if her feeling was just wrong.

But miracle happened. On May, mom didn’t get her period. So after two weeks, she went to buy a pregnancy test pack. It turned out to be positive. She always said that it was the best feeling ever to see the two strips on the pack. Finally these 4 years waiting was fruitful.

That night, she showed the pregnancy pack test result to dad. Being afraid to put hope in advance, dad directly brought mom to the private practice of an obstetrician. It was positively confirmed. The doctor said that he saw a gestational sac on mom’s womb, showing that she really in the middle of bearing her first child. After hearing that, dad was blown away and cried. Well, he didn’t tell me that part. It was mom who told me that dad immediately shouted and cried when the doctor passed the good news.

After came out from the doctor’s place, mom finally told dad about the dream she had in Alaina Park. Both of them were very grateful and they decided to celebrate that moment in the park. Yeah, it was already late. But thankfully they didn’t close the park at night.

AND, on that very night, they decided to name their baby May, if it’s a baby girl. Mom was very sure that they would have a baby girl. But if it’s a baby boy, it will be named Alan – according to Alaina name which was modified. Those names were chosen to remind them about the place where mom had new hope to become pregnant, and about the time when the miracle happened. So, there I am, being named May, although I was born on February.

So that was the special memory that my mom and my dad had in this park. Although their schedule become busier and had no time to go to the park as often as before, they still tried to make a time to pay a visit every once a month, especially on May. Usually on Sunday, after having a mass in church, they will drop by to the park and prayed there.

But I had my own special memory too here. A memory with a young boy whom I regularly saw in my visits to the park. I noticed that He and his family were also often come to this park. But I had never talked to him before. I was busy playing alone, and he was busy playing with his younger brother.

I finally talked to him after years. When I was seven, in the last week of May, I once had been chasing by a dog while I played quite far from mom and dad. I remembered that time I ran in an amazing speed for a seven years old girl. But my route got me further from the park. So, when I saw a junction in the right side of the road, I wanted to turn there. But I was not prepared for a quite big and deep street gutter in that roadside. Short said, I felt off to that gutter.

That dog was just growling when he saw me felt off to gutter, then he left me alone. I was so relieved when I saw the dog left. But pain started to rise and I began to aware of a bad smell from the gutter. I try to climb out, but my feet were so painful when I try to move them. That time, I was ready to break out and crying.

There, I saw the familiar boy I told before. He was slightly bigger than me. Out of nowhere, he had showed up in front of me, stretched out his hand, and helped me to get out from the gutter. When I managed to get out and stood properly, he laughed at me. Maybe he was laughing my ‘just fall off in gutter’ look. I was ashamed for a second. But there was something in his laugh, something warm, probably. So that instead of crying, I was infected with his laugh and started to laugh at myself.

“My name is Divo,” he stretched out his right hand again, now with a smiling face.

Looking at his hand, I was spontaneously hiding mine. Because my hands were filthy after felt in to the gutter.

“May,” I answered without looking at his eyes or shake back his hand.

I wanted to say thank you when I heard my mom and dad’s voice vaguely shouting out my name. Maybe they were worried after seeing me no where around the park. So without saying no more, I turned back and ran back to them, leaving my helper.

I was running not far when I heard him said, “Take care, May!”

Hearing my name, I turned to him again and I could see him smiling and waving his hand. Without thinking, I could feel my hand wave back to him. Then I got back to mom and dad.

Seeing me in a awful condition, mom and dad took me home immediately and they become a little bit too worried, a little bit hysterical maybe. So I had no chance to tell them there was a boy who helped me, that his name was Divo. Only the big brown dog that chased me that got into their knowledge.

After that incident, my visit to Alaina Park become more often. I told mom that I would play with friends from my school. Because the park was not far away, mom had no objection to let me go. Actually, I didn’t go the park again and again to meet my friends there. As I could remember it well, I didn’t have a lot of friends in my childhood. There weren’t many who like to play with me. Maybe it’s because I wasn’t used to share something with other. Maybe that’s because I was the only child.

So, I went there to look for Divo. My new friend who helped me that day. I was curious to see him again because I was interested to his laugh which could make me laughing at myself. However, just when I tried to look for him, I rather hardly saw him again. Well, probably he still often came back to this park but in the time when I wasn’t there.

I just met him a couple of times before I finally lost contact with him. But, though I only met him in couple of times, I could say that I  become a good friend to him. In that our few encounters, we would play together, and he always laughed at me. Because I was no good at any game he tried to teach me. But every time I heard him laughing, I could laugh too. I laughed out loud like crazy whenever I played with him, until he left without any goodbye.

When I finally heard something about him, I was old enough to process what kind of situation he had. I was 14 that time, and I haven’t seen him for about 3 years since my last meeting with him. I overheard when mom talked something with dad. About the family they used to meet in the park. I knew it was Divo’s family.

I couldn’t believe it at first. They said that Divo’s dad was in prison for being caught up using drugs, and his mom was dead because of unknown illness. When I flashed back at the time when I often saw them in the park, I felt that they were a nice couple, a nice family. What has happened actually that suddenly one of them went to jail and one of them died and there’s no news about their kids? Where’s Divo? Where’s his younger brother?

But nobody could answer that for me. I never asked out that question to someone actually. I just hoped that I could see Divo again in Alaina Park and ask him how is his family going? Yeah, but no more encounter with him in Alaina Park. So I could only hold on to that news that spread in the neighborhood.

That time, it made me realize that when someone meets someone, it was more than just accidently happen.

From billions people, billions places, billions moments, and billions events that could happen on this earth, to be with someone in a same time and space dimension, it has to be something that happened for a reason. Something that has been destined to be.

I consider my encounter with Divo as a story which has been destined to be. And I hope, my story that has been planned to intersect with his hasn’t ended yet. At least not like this.

Leave a Reply

